What Is The Punishment If You Are Convicted Of A DUI Offense In California?

If you are charged with a DUI offense in California the first thing you should do is make sure you have legal representation. You need to find a Los Angeles DUI Attorney who can give you the assistance you need. They will help you to understand the potential sentence you face if you are found guilty. It’s worth noting that sentencing is the same no matter which type of DUI you are charged with.

Of course, you may not be aware that there are two types of DUI offense. You can be charged with a DUI if you are showing signs of being impaired by drugs or alcohol. You do not need to have a certain level of alcohol in your blood to be charged with this offense. The other type of DUI offense is applicable if you have more than .08% of alcohol in your blood. You do not have to show signs of any impairment to be charged with this offense. It’s possible for you to be found guilty of both offenses but you can only be punished for one. The possible sentences are exactly the same for both types of DUI.

What Punishment Could You Be Facing If You Are Convicted?

The penalties for a DUI conviction vary and can be complicated. You will obviously receive a harsher punishment if you have previous DUI convictions. Your punishment can also be affected by factors such as if you had children in the car with you, if you were speeding and if you had an extremely high blood alcohol level. Each case is looked at individually, but usually if you have been convicted of your first DUI offense you could be facing:

  • Jail time of up to six months.
  • Probation of between three and five years.
  • Fines of between $1,800 and $2,000.
  • License suspended for six months (this can be changed to a restriction after thirty days).
  • Enrollment in a DUI school.

As we have mentioned, punishment may be harsher depending on the circumstances of the case and whether you have a DUI history.

Being Charged With a Felony

There are circumstances when you can be charged with a felony if you commit a DUI offense. This usually happens if someone is killed or injured as a result of your driving offense. If you are convicted of this type of felony you could be sentenced to between one and five years in state prison.

You could also be convicted of a felony if you are found guilty of DUI on multiple occasions. This generally happens if you have three or more previous convictions. Again, you can find yourself spending time in state prison.

Punishment for DUI varies, depending on what happened in your case and whether you have ever been convicted of a DUI offense before. We have shown you what you can expect as a minimum and why you may be facing a felony charge in certain circumstances.